OpenSeaMap Forum

For new registrations: Please create and activate an account. Afterwards send an email to forum.openseamap@gmail.com including a short message and your username to get write access to this forum. Thanks!
Für neue Registrierungen: Bitte erstelle einen neuen Account und schalte ihn frei. Anschließend sende eine kurze Mail mit deinem Nutzernamen an forum.openseamap@gmail.com um Schreibzugriff für dieses Forum zu bekommen. Danke!

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-02-17 14:45:01

kannix
Member
From: Ruhrgebiet
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 148
Website

.kap, .jpg and .mbtiles

Here comes my little showcase:

http://kap.grade.de/int-chart-ol2.html

Feedback and/or support is appreciated, Dirk

Offline

#2 2015-03-14 16:58:03

zenfunk
Member
Registered: 2014-08-13
Posts: 22

Re: .kap, .jpg and .mbtiles

Very nice service.

The pontoons in most of the harbours seem to be obscured by the depth layer though.

Cheers,
Christian

Offline

#3 2015-03-14 18:50:23

kannix
Member
From: Ruhrgebiet
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 148
Website

Re: .kap, .jpg and .mbtiles

Thanks,

indeed, the Dutch depth layer covers some land area. I will switch to an other layer ....

Have a nice day, Dirk

Offline

#4 2015-03-15 09:03:56

zenfunk
Member
Registered: 2014-08-13
Posts: 22

Re: .kap, .jpg and .mbtiles

Dutch depth layer?

Where does that come from? License?

I believe the depth layer we are using on the online map is transparent. How about doing it the other way round, making the sea area of the mapnik base map transparent (a simple color swapping should do). Then you stack the layers as follows: depth layer on the bottom, then mapnik and then our seamark layer on top. This should give us much less trouble. Any thoughts?

IMHO, the ultimate goal should be a proper custom rendering of the whole map. The smrender from Bernard comes into my mind there. Or is this too much load on the servers?

Again, thanks for the great work on the INT maps. BTW, how can I help getting more areas covered?

Cheers,
Christian

Offline

#5 2015-03-15 09:24:29

kannix
Member
From: Ruhrgebiet
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 148
Website

Re: .kap, .jpg and .mbtiles

Dutch depth layer:
http://www.rijkswaterstaat.nl/zakelijk/ … aterstaat/
[...]
Geodata
Om toegang te verkrijgen tot de geodata van Rijkswaterstaat kunt u gebruikmaken van de Mapviewer. Hierin kunt u diverse kaartlagen bekijken. Daarnaast kunt u de url's van de webservices in uw eigen applicatie gebruiken.
[...]

Base Layer:
I picked http://developer.mapquest.com/de/web/products/open/map since there are almost no restrictons on tile usage. Unfortunately their water style is pretty odd ... Might be hard to get this transparent.

smrender:
Yes, Bernhard's maps look best. Samples here: http://kap.grade.de/Europe/Germany/

Help:
http://wiki.openseamap.org/wiki/OpenSea … ter_Charts
http://wiki.openseamap.org/wiki/OpenSea … ter_Charts
http://wiki.openseamap.org/wiki/OpenSea … INT_Charts

Offline

#6 2015-03-16 10:24:41

kannix
Member
From: Ruhrgebiet
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 148
Website

Re: .kap, .jpg and .mbtiles

Hi Christian,

changed the Dutch depth layer: http://kap.grade.de/INT-CHART/INT-1470_ … aM-BSH.jpg

Have a nice day, Dirk

Offline

#7 2015-03-16 12:47:04

zenfunk
Member
Registered: 2014-08-13
Posts: 22

Re: .kap, .jpg and .mbtiles

Looks good.

Still have no idea on how to actually contribute to the project- I'm probably too dumb to see it :-D.

Do you need people to actually provide the csv files?
Like the ones here: https://github.com/OpenSeaMap/chart-she … n_C1/1.csv
Cheers,
Christian

Offline

#8 2015-03-16 15:10:45

kannix
Member
From: Ruhrgebiet
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 148
Website

Re: .kap, .jpg and .mbtiles

Yes, converting the
   int-chart pdf > csv > geojson
is one task.
'C1', 'C2', 'D' & 'E' is done.

Reviewing and improving the code is welcome, too: https://github.com/OpenSeaMap/general/issues/10

Offline

#9 2015-07-06 21:42:08

mikeb
Member
Registered: 2015-07-06
Posts: 2

Re: .kap, .jpg and .mbtiles

Hi there

My first post here and my first time working with MBtiles format, so please excuse me if I have misunderstood how they work - but it appears the latitude for the tiles is incorrect, in at least the two "mbtiles" files I have checked which are http://kap.grade.de/cgi-bin/download.php?Chart=1046 and http://kap.grade.de/cgi-bin/download.php?Chart=1473.

For 1473, for example, the text file at http://kap.grade.de/INT-CHART/INT-1473_ … aM-BSH.txt gives the top/bottom tile numbers are 2704 and 2723 (correct). However if I open the "mbtiles" file in sqllite and run "select min(tile_row), max(tile_row) from tiles", I get 5468 and 5487 - which are way down in the south atlantic.

Is it my error or are the "mbtiles" files incorrect?

Cheers... Mike

Offline

#10 2015-07-07 08:36:07

kannix
Member
From: Ruhrgebiet
Registered: 2013-10-27
Posts: 148
Website

Re: .kap, .jpg and .mbtiles

Hi Mike,

y-tile-names are flipped at mbtiles-format.
Math to flip y-coords:  coord.row = Math.pow(2, coord.zoom) - coord.row - 1;

Hope this helps, Dirk

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB