OpenSeaMap Forum

For new registrations: Please create and activate an account. Afterwards send an email to forum.openseamap@gmail.com including a short message and your username to get write access to this forum. Thanks!
Für neue Registrierungen: Bitte erstelle einen neuen Account und schalte ihn frei. Anschließend sende eine kurze Mail mit deinem Nutzernamen an forum.openseamap@gmail.com um Schreibzugriff für dieses Forum zu bekommen. Danke!

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-07-06 12:13:07

boat_alexandra

New to OSM -- cannot find tools

I installed josm upgraded and enabled the SeaMapEditor plugin and restarted.

Now I am looking for some tool so I can put in depth soundings, and moorings etc.. and I cannot find anything.

I also tried dragging some of the items from the seamap editor window to the map and nothing seems to work.

Any help please?   I'm new to this today.

#2 2014-07-06 12:39:12

malcolmh

Re: New to OSM -- cannot find tools

First, please do not put any depth data into the OSM database - we a have a separate database under construction for this. No doubt the developers of this will gice you more information.

As for editing, the procedure is as follows:
1. Open the SeaMapEditor tool.
2. Create a node in the map window.
3. Select this node.
4. Using the SeaMapEditor, select the object type & other attributes using the buttons, text boxes & menu items.
5. Click "save". This will add the appropriate tags to the node.

If you are new to JOSM it would be worthwhile spending some time learning how to use its basic operations first.

Malcolm Herring, Developer

#3 2014-07-06 19:56:35

last_navigator

Hi boat_alexandra.  If you are new to OSM I implore you to get comfy with working with live data before you jump into the deep end.  It is very easy to balls something up then upload it to the main server.